The First Day of Spring came and ended in a Quarantine – Now what do we do?

Bluebonnet_Sunrise_credit_Pierce_Ingram_expires_June_2021_16bcb8cc-9f71-4142-85f1-c1f5ef20a58a

The first day of spring came – Thursday March 19, 2020 – and it will end on Saturday, June 20, 2020 and who knows what the world will look like then.

Many of us were told to go inside and begin our quarantines. I have talked to countless friends and family who are now working from home, and others who have completely lost work. Since March 13, I have been purchasing and delivering groceries for family and friends who could not make it to the stores because of their schedules. Honestly, for the first time in my life – I was blessed to have the time and ability to do so. All of the bustling and lines were worth it to me to know that my people – my tribe would have some provisions for the quarantine because honestly – they had no idea it was coming. I was lucky enough to be tuned in and to see it starting before the madness.

And here we are…that was 13 days ago. Events I wanted to write about and inspire you to go see have since been canceled. Therefore, I knew I needed to regroup and figure out how best to be of service to my readers and contributors. Of course – I would relaunch a website right before the global pandemic! This honestly makes me laugh. The universe just does not care about our plans does it? She always seems to have one of her own.

I heard a quote last night from something I was watching that said, “You do not find your path in life, the path finds you.” And I think that is what is happening to us all right now – the entire collective is being asked to go inward. Perhaps what the whole world needs is a huge pause so that we can reset. Perhaps our paths have been trying to find us, but we were running around in circles going on with the day-to-day that we were not able to be present enough to be found. I do not say any of this to diminish the levity or complexity of this time for you and your loved ones. I know this is scary and I know the fear of uncertainty can be crippling. But I urge you to use this time to acknowledge that fear and do the thing anyway – whatever the thing is that your soul has been calling you to do – now is the time. And if you do not know what that thing is yet – that is perfectly okay. Just start simple.

Start with your breath. Breathe. Release your shoulders from your ears and roll them down the spine and just take in a deep breath. Imagine all of your tension rolling down the spine towards the floor of the space you are currently occupying and see it travel all the way to the center of the Earth. On the next inhale take a breath and imagine a light pouring down onto the crown of the skull and traveling into every single cell of your body. With each exhale release tension and tightness and send it down, with each inhale take in that light from above. Do this practice as often as you need to in order to feel grounded and in order to feel the healing energy of the universe. (I bet you forgot or did not know I am a certified Yoga teacher…hehehe!) Get ready, friends because I am working for you.

Here is what I have been doing. So much prepping – but not the crazy kind. I have prepped my patio for gardening since I know I will not be able to leave much and my dogs and I need that space to feel happy. I have brought out all the essential oils, sage bundles, palo santo, and began to dry herbs I found in my local community garden. I am meditating day and night…sometimes three times a day. My self-care routine needed a lot of work so I am making sure to get my walks in, naps, yoga, and make actual phone calls to friends or Zoom them. But wait there’s more…I am creating and setting intentions everyday, even on the days I feel scared, uncertain, and drained. I urge you to do the same.

I will begin to share articles that I think can help provide some grounding and healing during this time. Also, I will still share artists’ works and creations with you as well. Soak up as much art as you can right now. Soak up the things that make you happy. You deserve the rest. You deserve the self care. If you are struggling REACH OUT, please. This is not the end of humanity – this is the beginning of something new. We are about to find out what people are really made of, and honestly when you take away all the crap we have been “working for our whole lives” the only thing we end up with is who we are and how we treat each other. So be kind. Be kind to yourself. Be kind to your family and loved ones. Be kind to others.

We are all in this together even if we are socially distanced apart. Thank the people out there on the front lines – the grocers and cashiers with lines from open to close, the truck drivers working double shifts because one of their coworkers was getting sick and had to call out, the brave, understaffed, and tired medical professionals, those tenacious delivery drivers and post office workers dropping off your packages, the school teachers who are now returning to virtual classrooms with little to no prep, the people cooking and delivering your food from a safe distance…these folks and many more deserve our utmost gratitude.

Love and light to you all.

-A

39161520_1126291727527974_2243114230171566080_n

Here is a short list of Yogis/Healers/Amazing people to subscribe to and follow. I call them my magnificent seven (haha) – many of whom are offering free/donation based classes online. Try them out!

1. If you need to start or build a home practice.

Yoga With Adriene – Insta: @fwfglife

unnamed

https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene

2. If you need to laugh and yoga. Be saged! 

Yogi Bryan – Insta: @yogi_bryan

unnamed (1)

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCM4jrl1DLhgPXEdIW6J7VZw/featured

3. If you like Buti style & need some healing vibes.

Yogi & Reiki Master: Inga – Insta: @yoga.goddess420

83566983_183018469682712_6706387808304496640_n

4. If you need healing, grounding, & alignment. 

Yogi & Katonah expert: Brittany – Insta: @brittanyalice

public

http://www.brittanyalicekraft.com/resources

5. Do you need a yoga/art/tarot card reader teacher? Of course you do!

Yogi – Nicole – Insta: @artyogaplay

87684305_2310534679244748_7385022295663733544_n

6. When you need a yogi, astrologer, and psychotherapist. She’s also an amazing musician! 

Yogi Lauren – Insta: @laurendonelson

75379771_158036998744064_6009671686499899239_n(1)

laurendonelson.com

7. When you need to yoga and love books, writing, music, cats, and tarot! 

Yogi Kandace – Insta: @biblioyoga 

img_3616-1

Home

Published by

pocketvenus17

A pint sized look at the big world.

Leave a comment